Bank holidays guide

Most offices in Bangalore observe a five-day workweek through half-day Saturdays are also common – even among banks. Shops tend to be open long hours all days of the week, some closing on Sunday. Banks are always closed on Sunday.

Throughout the year there are many holidays, more than are common in most Western countries. Some of the bank holidays in India are fixed while others, specifically for Indian festivals, vary every year as they are calculated according to the Indian (lunar-based) calendar. Since there seems to be a holiday almost every other week, it is best to never wait until the last minute to attend to banking matters. For a complete list of Karnataka bank holidays, you can also check

Id-E-Milad (Birthday of Muhammed)January 25January 13
Republic DayJanuary 26January 26
Maha Shivratri (Celebration in reverence of Lord Shiva)March 10February 28
Holi (Festival of Colors)March 27March 17
Good FridayMarch 29April 18
Mahavir Jayanthi (Birthday of Mahavir)April 24April 23
May DayMay 1May 1
Buddha Purnima (Celebration of Buddha’s birth, enlightenment and death)May 25May 14
Id-Ul-Fitr (End of Ramadan fast; Muslim holiday)August 9July 28
Independence Day (India attained freedom from the British Rule on this day in 1947)August 15August 15
Krishna Janmashtami (commemoration of the birth of the Hindu deity Krishna)August 28August 17
Ganesh Chaturthi (10-day Hindu festival celebrating the birthday of Lord Ganesh, the elephant headed god)September 9August 29
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanthi (Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi – the Father of the Nation)October 2October 2
Vijaya Dashami (A popular Hindu festival that marks the end of Devon Rama by Lord Rama; an auspicious day)October 13October 4
Bakri Id (Feast of sacrifice; Muslim holiday)October 16October 4
Karnataka State Formation Day (Karnataka attained statehood)November 1November 1
Diwali (Festival of lights; Hindu celebration of Lord Rama and his return after 14 years in exile)November 3October 23
Muharram (Islamic New Year)November 14October 15
Guru Nanak Jayanthi (Birthday of the founder of Sikhism)November 17November 6
Christmas (Christian celebration of the birth of Jesus)December 25December 25