Auckland preview

New Zealand

There are 11 public holidays every year in New Zealand. In addition, most employees get four weeks of paid vacation, usually taken in January, when many businesses in Auckland essentially shut down. These are New Zealand’s official bank holidays. Also note, that the annual sickness leave allowance in New Zealand is only officially 5 days. Whilst some companies offer more, a large number still only offer the minimum.

Actual Date 2013 2014 2015
New Years Day 1 Jan 1 Jan 1 Jan 1 Jan
Day after New Years Day 2 Jan 2 Jan 2 Jan 2 Jan
Auckland Anniversary Day 29 Jan 28 Jan 27 Jan 26 Jan
Waitangi Day 6 Feb 6 Feb 6 Feb